If you don't want your server to be federated with Portal for ArcGIS anymore, remove the federated server using the portal website. Your hosted service items remain in the portal but they are disconnected from their services in ArcGIS Server. This means that members will not be able to access, share, or use these services in the portal. Additionally, any existing ArcGIS Server services that were imported during the federation process are removed from the portal and are no longer available. The services remain in ArcGIS Server until you explicitly delete them using a program such as ArcGIS Server Manager.
After unfederating, log in to ArcGIS Server Manager and restore the security settings you were using before you federated.
To remove an ArcGIS Server site from your portal, follow the steps below.
- Sign in to the portal website as an Administrator of your organization.
- Click Edit Settings > Servers.
- In the Servers dialog box, locate the server you want to unfederate and click the Remove server button.
- Click Yes to confirm.
- If you no longer want ArcGIS Server services to be available to any application, log in to ArcGIS Server Manager and delete the services. Hosted services published by portal users are located in the Hosted folder.
- Log in to Manager with the primary site administrator account, and reset the user and role stores to the settings they were using before you federated the server. When you log in, you'll notice that the unfederation operation has reverted ArcGIS Server security to the built-in user and role store. Set it to the store that you want, and reapply permissions on your services if necessary.
If the primary site administrator account is disabled, you need to re-enable it before you can log in. To learn more, see Configuring ArcGIS Server security and Restricting access to GIS web services.