Share content to groups
Supported item types including maps, layers, and files, can be shared across participants in a collaboration. When content is shared with a participant, a new folder is created under the participating administrator's folder. This folder is used to import the content and store the items, which are then shared to the group associated with the collaboration workspace. The folder is named based on the collaboration name.
If you change the way in which an item is shared, ensure you modify the sharing settings for related items as well. For example, if a web map was previously shared with Everyone but you altered it to be shared with your organization, you should change the settings in any operational layers contained in the web map accordingly.
When you share web maps that contain hosted layers with collaboration participants, corresponding web map items are created in the collaboration. You should also share any related items for the hosted layers in the web map and source data that created those layers to the collaboration group. For example, if you share a web map with a hosted feature layer published from a shapefile, share the hosted feature layer and shapefile with the group associated with the collaboration workspace. That way, collaboration participants receive a copy of the web map, a copy of the hosted feature layer, and a copy of the original shapefile.
All layer items can be shared in a collaboration as references to the original source data. At ArcGIS Enterprise 10.5.1, an additional option to share hosted feature layer items as copies is available when the collaboration host is an ArcGIS Online organization.
Share a layer as a reference
All layer items can be shared as references. If you share a layer as a reference, a new item is created in the participant portals that refers to the original service; the services and corresponding data are not copied to each participating portal. If a participant shares a feature service, only the owner of that service can edit the original feature service. Collaboration participants will receive live access to feature layers in the designated workspace. Collaboration participants must have access to view features from the originating portal.
Share a hosted or federated feature layer as a copy
At ArcGIS Enterprise 10.5.1, hosted or federated feature layer items can be shared with the option to copy data when the collaboration host is an ArcGIS Online portal. If you share a feature layer by copying data, a new item is created in the receiving participant portals and the copied data is used to publish a feature layer on the participant portal. The owner of the original feature service can edit the feature service and synchronize changes to the participant portals at a scheduled interval. To use this approach, the sync interval must be set within the collaboration workspace and sync must be enabled on each participating item in the collaboration.
The option to share feature layers as copies is not supported for collaborations that consist of two or more ArcGIS Enterprise portals.
When you join a workspace where access includes Send content, items you add to the workspace's group are sent to organizations configured to Receive content from the workspace. For sync enabled feature layer items, the data and the feature layer are copied to the receiving organization. The copied feature layer will be hosted and have a URL that references the receiving organization. Edits made to the feature layer in your organization are applied to any receiving organizations copy once the workspace is synced.
See About sharing feature layers as copies for more details.
Share ArcGIS Server services
If an ArcGIS Server service item is shared to the portal where it originated, as well as to a group associated with a collaboration workspace, members of other participants are still prompted for credentials when adding the service to a map. To avoid a prompt for credentials, you must share the service in the originating portal with Everyone as well as with the group associated to the collaboration workspace.
ArcGIS Server services that are shared with collaboration participants create items in the participant portals that refer to the original service; the services and corresponding data are not copied to each participating portal. If a participant shares a feature service, only the owner of that service can edit the original feature service.
Once a feature layer has been shared as a data copy, any subsequent schema changes such as enabling attachments will not be synchronized with other participant portals. Ownership-based access control settings on the original hosted feature layer will not be included in the copied data.
Files such as PDFs shared with collaboration participants create corresponding file items in the collaboration participant portals. Any changes you make to those files as a guest participant will be overwritten when the content is synced from the item's source. The same is true of metadata associated with an item.