About sharing content
Portal-to-portal collaboration allows you to share content with other portals. Once the administrator of the collaboration host portal has set up the collaboration, your portal's access mode in the collaboration workspace determines what you can do in the collaboration. The sync settings for the collaboration workspace determine when content is synced between all participant organizations.
Sending and receiving content within a collaboration happens in groups. Groups indicate that they are participating in a collaboration and list the name of the collaboration, as well as the access mode and sync settings for the group. You can find this information in the Group Details under Collaboration.
Web maps that contain hosted layers shared with collaboration participants create corresponding web map items in collaboration participant portals. Related items for the hosted layers in the web map and source data that created those layers should also be shared to the group. For example, if you share a web map with a hosted feature layer published from a shapefile, share the hosted feature layer and shapefile with the group linked to the collaboration workspace. That way collaboration participants receive a copy of the web map, a copy of the hosted feature layer, and a copy of the original shapefile.
ArcGIS Server services that are shared with collaboration participants create items in the participant portals that refer to the original service; the services and corresponding data are not copied to each participating portal. If a participant shares a feature service, only the owner of that service can edit the original feature service.
Web apps shared with collaboration participants create corresponding web app items in collaboration participant portals. Related items for the app-related web maps, hosted layers, and source data that created those layers should also be shared to the group linked to the collaboration workspace. Hosted layer items in receiving portals will refer to the original service in the portal from which the app was shared. Any changes done in the receiving portals to the web map used in the app, such as symbology, basemap, or layer changes, will be overwritten at the next content sync. Operational layers in the web map can only be edited by the original owner.
Files such as PDFs shared with collaboration participants create corresponding file items in the collaboration participant portals. Any changes you make to those files as a guest portal member will be overwritten when the content is synced from the item's source. The same is true of metadata associated with an item. Item comments are not synced with collaboration participants.
Content shared with collaboration participants continues to behave according to the portal sharing model sharing settings from where it originated. If an ArcGIS Server service item is shared with the portal where it originated, as well as a group linked with a collaboration workspace, members of the other portals in the collaboration are still prompted for credentials when adding the service item to the map viewer. For collaboration participants to not be prompted for credentials, the service would need to be shared in the original portal with everyone as well as the workspace-linked group.
When content is shared with a participant portal, a new folder is created under the participant administrator's folder. This is used to import the content and store the items, which are then shared to the group associated with the collaboration workspace. The folder is named based on the collaboration name.
The following are the three access modes available to a collaboration participant:
- Send—Participants can send content to the other portals in the collaboration.
- Receive—Participants can receive content from other portals in the collaboration.
- Send and Receive—Participants can send and receive content to and from other portals in the collaboration. Collaboration host portals' access mode is set to this by default.
You can change the access mode for a collaboration participant if you are the administrator of the collaboration host organization. See Manage collaborations for details.
Send content to collaboration participants
To send content to collaborators, share the content in your portal with the group that is linked to your collaboration workspace. The content will be sent to other participating portals based on the sync settings determined by your administrator. If you remove items from a group linked to a collaboration workspace, they will be removed from the recipient portals' groups at the next sync. If you change the way in which an item is shared, ensure you modify the sharing settings for related items as well. For example, if a web map was previously shared with Everyone but you altered it to be shared with your portal, you should change the settings in any operational layers contained in the web map accordingly.
Receive content from collaboration participants
Your portal will receive a copy of content from participants in the group you have associated with the collaboration workspace. Content will refresh and appear according to the schedule set by the collaboration administrator.
Items received from other organizations will display the Collaborated Content badge. This badge will not be visible on items in the portal from which they originate.
If you share content to a group in your portal and your access mode in the collaboration is only Receive, that content will remain in your group but will not be shared to other collaboration participants.
If an item fails to be exported from a group or imported to a group when sharing, and that item is part of a group of files, the export/import will proceed so the other files are moved successfully. An error will be logged indicating that one file failed. Have your portal administrator inspect the portal logs for details.