As a publisher, you need to manage the hosted layers you publish to your portal.
The following list and sections describe settings that hosted layer owners and administrators control for all hosted layer types:
- Who can access the hosted layers—When you first publish hosted layers, they are visible only to you and administrators unless you share them.
- The details stored with your hosted layers, such as the name, summary, or thumbnail.
- Whether the hosted layer can be deleted.
- Delete layers that are no longer needed.
- Set the layer extent.
- Enable pop-ups.
Manage delete operations
Occasionally, you no longer need a hosted layer and want to delete it. There are dependencies between layers and data that you should understand before deleting a hosted layer.
If you published the hosted layer directly to your portal, deleting the hosted layer deletes the underlying data the layer represents. If you created the layer from an existing hosted feature layer instead, the existing hosted feature layer is the primary layer and is considered the data source. Deleting the dependent layers you created from the hosted feature layer does not delete the data.
The presence of dependent layers prevents you from deleting the hosted feature layer from which the dependent layer was created. When you attempt to delete a file or hosted feature layer that has dependent layers using the Delete button on the item's detail page, a message box appears that lists the dependent layers. This message provides links to view and delete each dependent layer. Once you delete all dependent layers, you can delete the hosted feature layer or file.
If you delete the file from which a hosted layer was published, you'll receive a message warning you there are dependent layers. You will not be prevented from deleting the file, but if you do delete it, certain functionality may no longer be available to you. For example, if you delete the service definition file created when you published a hosted feature layer from an ArcGIS Desktop client, you won't be able to overwrite the hosted feature layer from ArcMap. Similarly, if you delete the tile package from which a hosted tile package was published, maps that contain the hosted tile layer cannot be taken offline.
Manage ownership of dependent layers
If you are an administrator of the organization and have privileges to reassign ownership, you can change ownership of items. Beginning with 10.5.1, the administrator can change ownership of the primary hosted feature layer, and this automatically changes ownership of dependent layers and the item used to create the primary hosted feature layer (such as a service definition file or CSV file).