By default, ArcGIS Server allows publishers to package and copy service source data to the server when they publish. If you're concerned about too much data accumulating on the server, or if you would rather have your publishers reference the data in registered databases and folders, you can block data copying. Configure this setting in ArcGIS Server Manager.
Keep in mind that once you disable data copying, your publishers will need to register their data with the ArcGIS Server site before they publish. Esri recommends that you register a set of approved source locations with the ArcGIS Server site and communicate these locations to your publishers. Also be aware that when you disable data copying, feature service data will not be copied to your managed database when you publish. For more information, see About registering your data with ArcGIS Server.
To disable data from being copied to an ArcGIS Server site, follow these steps:
- Open Manager and log in.
- Click Site > GIS Server > Data Store.
- On the Data Store module, click Settings.
- On the Data Store Settings dialog box, uncheck Allow data to be copied to the site when publishing services.
- Click Save.
Your site is now configured to prevent publishers from copying data to the server when publishing.